New Year, New Venture

S.Kin’Designs

For awhile now I’ve been looking for something creative that would hold my attention, something I enjoy doing and had some purpose behind it. Having already done plenty of creative things, and things with purpose…and even things that have held my attention, finding something that fit all the criteria- not so easy. So now I’m embarking on something hat I’m pretty excited about (again- not that I haven’t been excited about other ventures).

Now I just have to find the time to commit to doing it- between being an entrepreneur already, a full-time Mom, trying to fit yoga and friends in where I can (and the list goes on….)….so on a borrowed sewing machine and with some great fabrics I embark.

Yesterday I put together my first pattern design, I have at least two more to go for now, with more to follow later I’m sure.

So what am I doing? Well here’s the background. Like I said, I’m a mom and we’re a few months into eating solids (and we are practicing baby-led weaning, more on this another time perhaps), well needless to say to anyone who’s been there- there can be some pretty messy meals. There are also a surprising lack of full-coverage bibs available. The little milk bibs that are in such abundance have practically no coverage when it comes to solids, and even the slightly larger food bibs do a pretty sad job when it comes to the messier meals. We’ve even had meals where the bib remains pretty clean, but the shirt…(and sometimes pants and hair) not so much. So after a lot of painstaking effort I have found one or two larger bibs that do the trick a little better, but still found their design somewhat lacking. On one the neck hole was so big that food got down the front between bib and shirt- making the bib adjustable would solve this problem! The other had a pocket that only caught a fraction of the mess, and then was more hassle to clean than the baby- and believe me, our little girl (as much as she loves food and eating)complains to no end about the cleanup.

Messy Meal Time

note how the sleeve has not remained rolled up, and the amount of tomato sauce on white fabric.

So if you haven’t guessed, I’m in the process of designing a few styles of bib that have large (and larger) coverage. While they are not going to be full smocks, and cannot truly be full coverage (think of food smeared in the hair, behind the ears is a favourite spot in our household). They will be pretty full-coverage as far as bibs go.

The Style:

There’s something else that I intend to be unique about my bibs. I’m hoping to give them some retro and pin-up flair. stay tuned for pictures and you can be the judge!

~ by Stephanie on January 2, 2011.

One Response to “New Year, New Venture”

  1. Looks like you have your work cut out for you. I have no doubt that you will come up with a great design.

    Steve

Leave a Reply

 
